#1 2016-09-06 20:21

Stamimail
Member
Registered: 2016-05-08
Posts: 49

If Name = New Name then skip

Why do I get a msseage that all files in list were renamed, instead of just the ones which marked in red (preview)?

Offline

#2 2016-09-06 22:34

den4b
Administrator
From: den4b.com
Registered: 2006-04-06
Posts: 2,475

Re: If Name = New Name then skip

Every marked file in the table will be renamed, that is just how ReNamer works.

Offline

#3 2016-09-06 22:38

Stamimail
Member
Registered: 2016-05-08
Posts: 49

Re: If Name = New Name then skip

What about an Option in settings to rename only the red ones?

Offline

#4 2016-09-06 22:56

den4b
Administrator
From: den4b.com
Registered: 2006-04-06
Posts: 2,475

Re: If Name = New Name then skip

Stamimail wrote:

What about an Option in settings to rename only the red ones?

There are multiple options to clear or unmark not changed files. Check the context menu.

Offline

#5 2016-09-06 23:03

Stamimail
Member
Registered: 2016-05-08
Posts: 49

Re: If Name = New Name then skip

Right.
wants to set the default behaviour... not to use always the context menu...

Offline

#6 2016-09-08 14:18

den4b
Administrator
From: den4b.com
Registered: 2006-04-06
Posts: 2,475

Re: If Name = New Name then skip

Stamimail wrote:

wants to set the default behaviour... not to use always the context menu...

This option can be implemented. It was added to the list.

Offline

#7 2017-02-05 20:37

den4b
Administrator
From: den4b.com
Registered: 2006-04-06
Posts: 2,475

Re: If Name = New Name then skip

This option has been added in ReNamer 6.6.0.6 Beta.

Offline

#8 2017-04-19 11:37

Stamimail
Member
Registered: 2016-05-08
Posts: 49

Re: If Name = New Name then skip

I wonder why it's not the default. Why will someone want to keep disable "Skip renaming of unchanged files"?

Offline

#9 2017-04-20 01:11

den4b
Administrator
From: den4b.com
Registered: 2006-04-06
Posts: 2,475

Re: If Name = New Name then skip

Stamimail wrote:

I wonder why it's not the default. Why will someone want to keep disable "Skip renaming of unchanged files"?

One of reasons: It is a new feature which changes a long-established behavior. It may become the default in future.

Offline

#10 2017-07-20 00:33

Stamimail
Member
Registered: 2016-05-08
Posts: 49

Re: If Name = New Name then skip

I've noticed that after renaming there is an Information message that tells us how many files successfully renamed and how many files skipped.
The problem is that we can't know if the "skip" was made because there is no change, or because there were some disabled checkboxes.
I suggest
"X files skipped" for disabled checkboxes
"X files wasn't changed" for no change.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB