#1 2017-05-15 07:29

Stamimail
Member
Registered: 2016-05-08
Posts: 51

Ctrl+N - New Project - New instacne

How do I set Ctrl+N to open a new instance of Renamer instead of just clear the current?

Offline

#2 2017-05-17 20:54

den4b
Administrator
From: den4b.com
Registered: 2006-04-06
Posts: 2,484

Re: Ctrl+N - New Project - New instacne

Stamimail wrote:

How do I set Ctrl+N to open a new instance of Renamer instead of just clear the current?

There is no way to change shortcuts in ReNamer.

Your best bet is to use some hotkey application, i.e. associate ReNamer with some hotkey combination.

Offline

#3 2017-05-18 11:09

Stamimail
Member
Registered: 2016-05-08
Posts: 51

Re: Ctrl+N - New Project - New instacne

So the question will be, why don't you prefer the default Ctrl+N will make a new instance of Renamer? like some other apps.
I think it will be better.

Offline

#4 2017-05-19 10:46

den4b
Administrator
From: den4b.com
Registered: 2006-04-06
Posts: 2,484

Re: Ctrl+N - New Project - New instacne

Stamimail wrote:

Why don't you prefer the default Ctrl+N will make a new instance of Renamer? like some other apps.
I think it will be better.

The answer is in your own question...

Similarly, some apps use Ctrl+N to start a new session, create a empty project or a new document. Whether it is better or not is very subjective.

However, we can add a "New Instance" option with an alternative shortcut Ctrl+Shift+N.

Offline

#5 2017-05-19 11:39

Stamimail
Member
Registered: 2016-05-08
Posts: 51

Re: Ctrl+N - New Project - New instacne

Whether it is better or not is very subjective.

I think it would be better to make Ctrl+N as the default for new instance,
and Ctrl+Shift+N for new blank,
because it can be more "critical" to people who think (by mistake) it make new instance, and they discover they actually lost all their work.

Offline

#6 2017-05-19 16:01

den4b
Administrator
From: den4b.com
Registered: 2006-04-06
Posts: 2,484

Re: Ctrl+N - New Project - New instacne

Perhaps, if "New Project" option would require a user confirmation it would avoid this problem.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB