#1 2011-04-03 05:39

tewan
Member
Registered: 2011-04-03
Posts: 4

'Pick from Screen' multi-monitor problems

Just thought I'd let you know that multi-monitor support for Colors is a bit iffy now, unsure if you have this functionality planned later (hope so wink)

I have three monitors, my primary being in the center. Whenever I choose 'Pick from Screen,' I lose my entire left screen in the capture. The primary screen is then my left screen and my right screen is blanked out. The infobox that is meant to be next to the cursor is also shifted left an entire screen.

Hopefully the images below help out:
http://tewan.info/pre-capture.jpg
http://tewan.info/during-capture.jpg

Offline

#2 2011-04-03 23:07

den4b
Administrator
From: den4b.com
Registered: 2006-04-06
Posts: 2,962

Re: 'Pick from Screen' multi-monitor problems

This issue had been addressed and fixed.

Please download the latest development version:
Colors - Alpha Release (ZIP)

Thank you for the report!

Offline

#3 2011-04-03 23:10

tewan
Member
Registered: 2011-04-03
Posts: 4

Re: 'Pick from Screen' multi-monitor problems

Using the version linked above, this is still occurring for me.

Offline

#4 2011-04-03 23:25

den4b
Administrator
From: den4b.com
Registered: 2006-04-06
Posts: 2,962

Re: 'Pick from Screen' multi-monitor problems

Very strange, because another user reported the same issue and it was resolved by the latest version.

What operating system are you using? So far it was tested on Win XP and 7, and it worked fine. Could you also describe your monitor setup with more details? e.g. how monitors are positioned, which one is primary, resolutions, describe the state of each monitor when you use "pick from screen" option, etc.

I've also modified the screen capture code to be aware of negative desktop origin.

Last edited by den4b (2011-04-03 23:59)

Offline

#5 2011-04-05 20:35

tewan
Member
Registered: 2011-04-03
Posts: 4

Re: 'Pick from Screen' multi-monitor problems

Hm, strange--maybe I opened the wrong zip the other day. I'm no longer getting the error mentioned earlier, but rather the cursor is in a completely different location then mentioned.

I am using Windows 7 x64.

Right now my montior set up is:

[4 (1920x1080)] [1|2 (1920x1080)] [3 (1920x1080)]
4 is a 27" monitor,
1|2 is a 27" monitor / 42" TV in mirrored mode
3 is a 27" monitor

http://tewan.info/monitorlayout.jpg - Picture to show monitor layout
http://tewan.info/screensetup.jpg - Screen resolution window in Windows 7

The behavior it is doing now is shown here:
http://tewan.info/strangebehavior.jpg

The mouse cursor is showing on the primary, middle screen whereas the application tooltip is showing on the left monitor. (Red boxes)

Offline

#6 2011-04-15 14:11

den4b
Administrator
From: den4b.com
Registered: 2006-04-06
Posts: 2,962

Re: 'Pick from Screen' multi-monitor problems

I think I got to the bottom of this. Color selection panel should now appear at the correct location (beside the cursor) on your setup. It can be difficult to fix such issues when there is no access to the same environment (your monitors setup), but your screenshots helped a lot!

Please try the latest development version:
http://den4b.com/?x=get&product=colors&type=alpha

Can you please try it and report back if you have (or don't have) any problems?

P.S. Nice setup you have there! smile

Offline

#7 2011-04-15 18:05

tewan
Member
Registered: 2011-04-03
Posts: 4

Re: 'Pick from Screen' multi-monitor problems

Hehe, thanks. tongue

The program is working great now.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB