#1 2012-11-06 08:42

damike
Member
Registered: 2012-11-06
Posts: 3

How come cpu speed MHz drops below pstates

I was just wondering what does the current cpu speed (mhz) drops below the minimum pstate? Is this the c1 state or something else?

Last edited by Stefan (2012-11-07 11:24)

Offline

#2 2012-11-06 12:22

Stefan
Moderator
From: Germany, EU
Registered: 2007-10-23
Posts: 974

Re: How come cpu speed MHz drops below pstates

Hi, welcome. What application are you talking about? Which version? On which OS?


For more help and how-to's  read our fine Wiki.
If ReNamer had helped you, please donate a coin to Denis or buy a Pro license for commercial use. (Lite vs Pro)

Offline

#3 2012-11-06 22:30

damike
Member
Registered: 2012-11-06
Posts: 3

Re: How come cpu speed MHz drops below pstates

cpumon 1.60 on windows xp x86

Offline

#4 2012-11-06 23:04

den4b
Administrator
From: den4b.com
Registered: 2006-04-06
Posts: 2,849

Re: How come cpu speed MHz drops below pstates

CPU speed is calculated in real-time and it will always vary slightly depending on the load of the system and other introduced latencies.

Offline

#5 2012-11-07 08:21

damike
Member
Registered: 2012-11-06
Posts: 3

Re: How come cpu speed MHz drops below pstates

ok cool, so the mhz is the apparent speed of the cpu, which is different from the actual speed like the one given in cpu-z. So when it drops to something very low like 30 mhz, it is not an actual pstate. Thanks!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB