#1 2014-05-02 22:37

remicco
Member
Registered: 2014-02-11
Posts: 2

CPUMon on Windows 8.1 64-bit

CPUMon looks like it is not fully supported on the Windows 8.1 64-bit. You list the following systems only: Windows 9x/NT/XP/2003/Vista/7. The same applies to another great software, i.e. Hooker.

Please, consider upgrading them soon. Would you?

Offline

#2 2014-05-03 10:53

den4b
Administrator
From: den4b.com
Registered: 2006-04-06
Posts: 2,849

Re: CPUMon on Windows 8.1 64-bit

CPUMon and Hooker should work just fine on Windows 8.

The reason why 8 is not included in the list of requirements is because these two products where not fully tested on this system. However, since Microsoft tries to keep backwards compatibility to a maximum, most likely there will be no issues.

For this reason I would like to invite you to try them out, there will be no harm.

Offline

#3 2014-05-03 12:38

remicco
Member
Registered: 2014-02-11
Posts: 2

Re: CPUMon on Windows 8.1 64-bit

I did try them out and it wasn't unproblematic. Upon starting up automatically with Windows, CPUMon wouldn't remember its settings the next time it is executed, because obviously administrative rights are required. This, however, has to be done manually. Despite of me adjusting the settings of CPUMon to my needs, they aren't being maintained whenever I let Windows load the software. That's why I think it's not wholly compatible with Windows 8.1 since other programs I run on a regular basis don't have that kind of issue.

Last edited by remicco (2014-05-03 12:42)

Offline

#4 2014-05-06 09:59

den4b
Administrator
From: den4b.com
Registered: 2006-04-06
Posts: 2,849

Re: CPUMon on Windows 8.1 64-bit

All of the products are portable by design, they do not require installation or uninstallation, and all of the settings and user data are stored in the application's folder. Depending on your system configuration and the location of CPUMon, it might not have the permissions to save the settings in the same folder.

You can find out more details about this issue and workarounds here:
http://www.den4b.com/wiki/Compatibility

Try placing CPUMon/Hooker in a non-protected folder, e.g.: C:\Tools\

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB