#1 2016-08-17 20:43

stanb
Member
Registered: 2016-08-17
Posts: 5

"Planner failed to start: Invalid Query" when monitoring HD Usage

Hello Denis and other Shutter users,

I have used Shutter succesfully for many months. I just upgraded my hard disk to a bigger one, by copying the contents to the bigger disk (by using the free Macrium Reflect). I now get the following error window when trying to start Shutter with Hard Disk Usage monitoring on:

ERROR
Planner has failed to start due to a critical problem:
Invalid query

I'm on Windows 10 Pro (latest updates), with 6 hard discs total. The copied install works perfectly fine, except for Shutter. I tried reinstalling Shutter and tried to delete the preferences file so it would reset itself, but I'm stuck. Can anyone point me in the right direction? Anyone seen this kind of error before? When not monitoring Hard Disk Usage it works fine (but I really liked this feature).

Thanks!
Stan

Last edited by stanb (2016-08-17 21:17)

Offline

#2 2016-08-17 21:35

den4b
Administrator
From: den4b.com
Registered: 2006-04-06
Posts: 2,764

Re: "Planner failed to start: Invalid Query" when monitoring HD Usage

Hi Stan, welcome!

This certainly doesn't sound normal. We need to reproduce it in a test environment to be able to fix it.

Please provide the following details:

1) Exact version of Windows 10, including build number (how to find build number)
2) Version of Shutter
3) The preset file and Shutter.ini which you are using

Offline

#3 2016-08-18 09:43

stanb
Member
Registered: 2016-08-17
Posts: 5

Re: "Planner failed to start: Invalid Query" when monitoring HD Usage

Quick response, thanks a lot!

Windows 10 Pro x64 build number: 10240.
Shutter is version 3.8.

Here are the .ini and the not working preset file:
www.benstecker.nl/files.rar

Good luck!

Offline

#4 2016-08-18 10:10

stanb
Member
Registered: 2016-08-17
Posts: 5

Re: "Planner failed to start: Invalid Query" when monitoring HD Usage

Where does Shutter store it's files? Even when I uninstall it and delete the C:/Program Files (x86)/Shutter/ folder it still remembers some presets. It seems to save in different places when I run the program as Administrator (it saves in the Shutter/Presets/ folder) and as normal user (no idea where it saves but it remembers presets).

I was thinking because I can't seem to delete all files, there might be a cache/preferences file I have not found yet.

Because it is saying "invalid query", does Shutter send a command to the Windows Task Planner? It might have also been the latest Windows update, that rendered the query invalid? Maybe the software uses Hard Disk id's, and the ID got deleted because I removed the old hard disk?

I have a image of the old install, and I still have the old hard disk laying around, if I can help in any way just let me know wink

Offline

#5 2016-08-18 13:04

den4b
Administrator
From: den4b.com
Registered: 2006-04-06
Posts: 2,764

Re: "Planner failed to start: Invalid Query" when monitoring HD Usage

Thanks for providing all details.

If the problem occurs only when you have the Hard Disk Usage event, then it is most likely something to do with Windows Management Instrumentation (WMI) interface used for querying hard disk usage.

To debug it further, you need to do this:

1) Click Start (Windows key), click Run, type wbemtest, and then click OK.
2) In Windows Management Instrumentation Tester dialog box, click Connect.
3) Type "root\cimv2" in Namespace field and click Connect.
4) Click Query and type:
    SELECT * FROM Win32_PerfRawData_PerfDisk_LogicalDisk WHERE Name = "_Total"
5) Click Apply.
6) In Query Result window double click on the the first row.
7) Click Show MOF, select all text in the window and copy via right click context menu.

Please post here the copied text or any errors.

Offline

#6 2016-08-18 13:11

den4b
Administrator
From: den4b.com
Registered: 2006-04-06
Posts: 2,764

Re: "Planner failed to start: Invalid Query" when monitoring HD Usage

Where does Shutter store it's files?

They are stored in VirtualStore folder, when Shutter is installed in a protected location like Program Files folder. More info: http://www.den4b.com/wiki/Compatibility

does Shutter send a command to the Windows Task Planner?

Shutter does not interact with Windows Task Scheduler.

Maybe the software uses Hard Disk id's...

No specific hardware ID's are used because Shutter reads the total hard disk usage.

Offline

#7 2016-08-22 23:46

stanb
Member
Registered: 2016-08-17
Posts: 5

Re: "Planner failed to start: Invalid Query" when monitoring HD Usage

den4b wrote:

4) Click Query and type:
    SELECT * FROM Win32_PerfRawData_PerfDisk_LogicalDisk WHERE Name = "_Total"
5) Click Apply.

I get this error when applying the query (translated from Dutch):

ERROR
Number: 0x80041017
Facility: WMI
Description: Invalid query

Maybe something on my system has got corrupted which renders the SQL query invalid?

Offline

#8 2016-08-23 00:27

stanb
Member
Registered: 2016-08-17
Posts: 5

Re: "Planner failed to start: Invalid Query" when monitoring HD Usage

Fixed it thanks to you, you pointed me in the right direction!

I found some articles that told me to reregister/refresh the WMI classes (that supply the information that Shutter uses for the hard disk monitoring):

The columns returned by the WMI class are incomplete or unexpected.

Solution: Update the WMI classes by running the following command at the command prompt of the target computer.

wmiadap.exe /f

I found some other commands, but this is the one that fixed it for me. Thanks again, and keep it up with the great software!

Last edited by stanb (2016-08-23 00:28)

Offline

#9 2016-08-23 09:20

den4b
Administrator
From: den4b.com
Registered: 2006-04-06
Posts: 2,764

Re: "Planner failed to start: Invalid Query" when monitoring HD Usage

That's great news, and great investigative work!

Thanks for posting your findings.

Offline

#10 2018-11-13 06:59

den4b
Administrator
From: den4b.com
Registered: 2006-04-06
Posts: 2,764

Re: "Planner failed to start: Invalid Query" when monitoring HD Usage

For the reference, a similar problem is also discussed here:
"Planner failed to start: Invalid Query" when monitoring HD Usage (#2)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB