#1 2006-04-23 20:06

jarin_b

ReNamer - translatable

Hi,
I have a suggestion: make ReNamer translateable, please.

Thanks,
Jarek

PS1: I tried many file-renaming programs and ReNamer is the best!
PS2: Excuse my "english"

#2 2006-04-24 13:51

den4b
Administrator

Re: ReNamer - translatable

Hi, Jarek!

Unfortunately, the Internationalization process is very-very time consuming. I'm not ready to make a Multi-Lingual User Interface, since I'm a single developer and developing only in my free time. I prefer an idea that it would be better that I spend free time that I do get - improving my tools, making then powerful, flexible, and easy to use. Again, making the programs support translations - will require a lot of time and effort, and will dramatically slow down the development process, since it would require the language files to be updated on every release.

Well, I hope you understand me smile

#3 2006-04-24 15:10

jarin_b

Hi Denis,

I understand you smile and I agree with you.
Question: may I localize ReNamer.exe?

Thanks,
Jarek

#4 2006-04-26 08:43

den4b
Administrator

The only way to localize ReNamer is to load the ReNamer Project from within the Delphi IDE, and edit all the strings in all the components and in some other places.. that requires a Delphi installation on your PC, a source code for ReNamer, and some programming skill with Delphi. Another thing is: you might accidentally break the code, since it is a lot of code indeed and you are unfamiliar with it.

What do you think about that?

I think it would be better to wait till I get my hands on the translation unit, which would let people create language files and load them dynamically.. but I don't know when that will be ready.

#5 2006-04-26 11:23

jarin_b

Hi Denis,

Denis Kozlov wrote: