#1 2008-05-25 18:50

Miki

Declaring a pointer before record

I am new to renamer, and even newer to pascal.

I have seen this type of code written for pascal-

type nptr = ^node;
     node = RECORD
           nextNode,prevNode: nptr;
           lastI : Integer
     END;

. . . but when i attempt to compile this in the PascalScript compiler, I immediately get the error "Identifier Expected" on the line "nptr = ^node".
Is this code incorrect?

Thanks.

#2 2008-05-26 16:11

Stefan

Re: Declaring a pointer before record

Hmmm roll

is
"nptr = ^node" correct???

or better
"nptr = node" ?

Just guessing.....:/

Read the  *WIKI* for HELP + MANUAL + Tips&Tricks.
If ReNamer had helped you, please *DONATE* to Denis or buy a PRO license. (Read *Lite vs Pro*)

#3 2008-05-26 20:37

Miki

Well, i would like it to be a pointer, but written as you suggested, i get the error "Unknown type 'node' "
so the question remains. . .

#4 2008-05-26 20:44

Stefan

Not all you can do in Pascal you can do in PascalScript.
Not all you can do in PascalScript you can do in ReNamer.
Take a look in ReNamer help and there in PascalScript section to know what ReNamer support.

If you would post what you want to archive ... maybe some one more familiar whit PascalScript may help you whit the syntax.

Read the  *WIKI* for HELP + MANUAL + Tips&Tricks.
If ReNamer had helped you, please *DONATE* to Denis or buy a PRO license. (Read *Lite vs Pro*)

#5 2008-05-26 21:22

den4b
Administrator

PascalScript component/language does not (yet) have support for Pointers.

Why do you need them? What are you trying to do? I am sure that you can achieve your goal without using pointers.

#6 2008-07-09 06:57

Miki

My how time flies!

Thank you for offering to help.
My problem was as follows:
I have LOTS (thousands) of well-organized pictures.  The problem is [of course] that the pictures themselves are poorly named (img0001, etc.)