#1 2009-08-22 10:12

rockerist

PascalScript and ID3 - building new folder structures

Hi,
I'm new to pascal so I need some help. Basically, I need to tag and rename a whole bunch of mp3s (100s of GB). I do the tagging part with MusicBrainz picard, and I found ReNamer to be the most intuitive file renaming program.

I found this script and modified it to rename album folders the way I want it. The thing is, I could only figure out how to rename the folder that contains audio files - and that's the problem.
The folder structure on my music disk should look like this:
Artist/[Year] Album/Artist - Track# - Title.mp3

Ok, i do the .mp3 renaming with musicbrains. I also use the script from above to get the album folder to look like '[Year] Album' (I inserted the brackets via insert rule not the pascal script). The problem is obviously the artist folder, since it has no .mp3 files itself, only subfolders.

This is an example of how it should be:

Velvet Revolver\[2004] Contraband\Velvet Revolver - 01 - Sucker Train Blues.mp3
Velvet Revolver\[2007] Libertad\Velvet Revolver - 01 - Let It Roll

There is another problem. The folders now are a bit chaotic:
C:\rename\velvet revolver\Contraband (2004)\Velvet Revolver - 01 - Sucker train Blues.mp3 (already did the tagging and mp3 file renaming)

but the other album is not within the velvet revolver root folder:
C:\rename\Velvet Revolver - Libertad [2007][CD+SkidVid_mpeg+Cov]192Kbps [skirgsk]

So, i drag 'C:\rename' to ReNamer. The folder structure varies, but in the end it should all be the way described above. Is this possible? smile

Many thanks

#2 2009-08-22 10:22

rockerist

Re: PascalScript and ID3 - building new folder structures

While reading my post again I realized a much simpler way to do this, but, i still need help doing it. big_smile
The album folder could initially be renamed into 'Artist [Year] Album' and then split into Artist\[Year] Album. How do I do this?

#3 2009-08-22 12:57

krtek