#1 2017-12-11 15:01

liamZ
Member
Registered: 2017-12-11
Posts: 5

Shutter 1by1 bug ??

Hi, I have a problem with shutter. When I select the 1by1 logic:
I have two events:
1 a file no longer exist
2 the same file is created

At first the file doesn't exist so we have:
1 triggered
2 waiting

But sometimes (but not always) when the file is created it gives me this:
1 waiting
2 triggered

without runing the actions.

Is this a bug or am I doing something wrong?

Offline

#2 2017-12-11 16:39

den4b
Administrator
From: den4b.com
Registered: 2006-04-06
Posts: 3,037

Re: Shutter 1by1 bug ??

We could not reproduce this issue.

Which version of Shutter are you using? Please try to reproduce it with the latest version, currently Shutter v4.1.

If it happens again, please take a screenshot and gather any other information that you might think is relevant.

Test setup:

Events [1BY1]:
1) File Size: File "c:\temp\test.txt" no longer exists
2) File Size: File "c:\temp\test.txt" created
Actions:
1) Alarm

Last edited by den4b (2017-12-11 16:40)

Offline

#3 2017-12-11 20:28

liamZ
Member
Registered: 2017-12-11
Posts: 5

Re: Shutter 1by1 bug ??

Hi, thanks for your answer. I'm using version 3.8.
What I'm trying to do with shutter is running a program everytime I plug an USB drive.

So I have the events:
1. "F:\NUL" no longer exists
2. "F:\NUL" created

and the actions:
1. Run program
2. Play sound
3. Restart events

When I plug the usb drive and it works the way it should, it changes from:
1. "F:\NUL" no longer exists (triggered)
2. "F:\NUL" created (file not found)

to:
1. "F:\NUL" no longer exists (file size: 0 bytes)
2. "F:\NUL" created

and running the actions.

But sometimes it doesn't work and it changes to:
1. "F:\NUL" no longer exists (file size: 0 bytes)
2. "F:\NUL" created (triggered)

and not running the actions, but then running the actions when I extract the USB drive.

To make it works fine I had to make two presets:

A:
event: "F:\NUL" no longer exists
action: Run preset B

B:
event: "F:\NUL" created
actions:
1 run program
2 play sound
3 run preset A

With this presets everytime I plug the USB drive it works the way it should.

Last edited by liamZ (2017-12-11 20:37)

Offline

#4 2017-12-12 10:46

liamZ
Member
Registered: 2017-12-11
Posts: 5

Re: Shutter 1by1 bug ??

Just tried with Shutter 4.1 and same thing happens, like I said not always:

Shutter 4.1 1by1

Offline

#5 2017-12-12 11:42

den4b
Administrator
From: den4b.com
Registered: 2006-04-06
Posts: 3,037

Re: Shutter 1by1 bug ??

We will check the handling of 1BY1 logic for consistency and will report back.

By the way, the path that you are checking contains a reserved name. Perhaps it is not a good idea to use it, however, this should not break the events logic in Shutter.

Microsoft wrote:

Do not use the following reserved names for the name of a file: CON, PRN, AUX, NUL, COM1, COM2, COM3, COM4, COM5, COM6, COM7, COM8, COM9, LPT1, LPT2, LPT3, LPT4, LPT5, LPT6, LPT7, LPT8, and LPT9. Also avoid these names followed immediately by an extension; for example, NUL.txt is not recommended.

Offline

#6 2017-12-12 11:58

liamZ
Member
Registered: 2017-12-11
Posts: 5

Re: Shutter 1by1 bug ??

Hi, thanks. There is no NUL file in my USB drive. It is just a way I found to check if a directory exists, cause shutter doesn't have that option:

support.microsoft.com/kb/65994
or
stackoverflow.com/questions/21033801/checking-if-a-folder-exists-using-a-bat-file

and it works in Shutter.

Last edited by liamZ (2017-12-12 12:00)

Offline

#7 2017-12-14 00:16

den4b
Administrator
From: den4b.com
Registered: 2006-04-06
Posts: 3,037

Re: Shutter 1by1 bug ??

We have identified some inconsistencies in the logic handling. Please check if your issue has been fixed in v4.1.0.1 Beta, download the latest development version.

By the way, "File Size" event can now be used to check specifically for existence of directories (or drives). Simply include a trailing directory separator to let Shutter know that it is a directory.

liamZ wrote:

There is no NUL file in my USB drive. It is just a way I found to check if a directory exists: support.microsoft.com/kb/65994

Well, then it is forbidden and suggested at the same time. wink

Offline

#8 2017-12-14 17:49

liamZ
Member
Registered: 2017-12-11
Posts: 5

Re: Shutter 1by1 bug ??

Hi, thanks a lot, now 1by1 logic works fine!!! smile

And also thanks for make it easier to check if a directory exists smile

Just only one thing worst of new shutter 4.1: It uses twice RAM  than 3.8.
In my system 3.8 takes: 5600KB and 4.1 10600KB

Last edited by liamZ (2017-12-14 18:29)

Offline

#9 2017-12-23 10:53

den4b
Administrator
From: den4b.com
Registered: 2006-04-06
Posts: 3,037

Re: Shutter 1by1 bug ??

liamZ wrote:

Just only one thing worst of new shutter 4.1: It uses twice RAM  than 3.8.
In my system 3.8 takes: 5600KB and 4.1 10600KB

That is unavoidable, if we want to keep things moving forward. It is also quite a small usage by the modern standards.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB