#1 2020-08-21 07:02

narayan
Senior Member
Registered: 2009-02-08
Posts: 458

Feature request: Allow user to load a preset when Renamer is launched

Currently Renamer can remember a set of rules and reload it the next time it is launched. That means if I have loaded a preset, it has the provision to remember those rules when it is launched next.

But if I use a different set of rules (or edit the loaded rules), this cycle is interrupted.

It would be great if we can load a given preset when Renamer is launched.

Last edited by narayan (2020-08-21 07:02)

Offline

#2 2020-08-21 08:25

Stefan
Moderator
From: Germany, EU
Registered: 2007-10-23
Posts: 1,046

Re: Feature request: Allow user to load a preset when Renamer is launched

Hi narayan,

isn't that already possible?

https://www.den4b.com/wiki/ReNamer:Command_Line
ReNamer.exe /preset <preset>
Load preset specified by a preset name or a full path.
Optionally, paths to files/folders can be appended.. ....


Just launch ReNamer from an shortcut (instead of ReNamer.EXE itself) where you have added that command line parameter.




 


Please see HELP and MANUAL in Wiki for more info.
If ReNamer had helped you, please donate a coin to Denis or buy a Pro license for commercial use. (Lite vs Pro)

Offline

#3 2020-08-23 09:19

den4b
Administrator
From: den4b.com
Registered: 2006-04-06
Posts: 3,024

Re: Feature request: Allow user to load a preset when Renamer is launched

Hi Narayan.

I've been meaning to implement this for a while now. Thanks for reminding. Will get right on it!

Stefan, the specification of a preset via the command line is like hard-coding to always load a particular preset. In contrast, the ability to remember and restore the last used preset will be a kind of an improvement of the already existing feature, where the relationship between the last used rules and the last used preset would be maintained between restarts.

I'm thinking of the following workflows:

1) Load a preset, close application. Start application, same preset is loaded.
2) Load a preset, change rules, close application. Start application, same rules are loaded but not the preset.
3) Load a preset, change rules, save preset, close application. Start application, same preset is loaded.

One could say, why not offer to save the modified preset before closing the application. Well, I'd like to take it one step at a time.

Offline

#4 2020-08-27 15:15

narayan
Senior Member
Registered: 2009-02-08
Posts: 458

Re: Feature request: Allow user to load a preset when Renamer is launched

I like all three options.

Offline

#5 2020-10-06 11:55

den4b
Administrator
From: den4b.com
Registered: 2006-04-06
Posts: 3,024

Re: Feature request: Allow user to load a preset when Renamer is launched

This feature was implemented in ReNamer 7.2.0.6 Beta.

The relevant changelog entries:
* Remember and restore the last used preset by the preset name, rather than via an anonymous default preset.
* The option to remember the last used rules/preset is enabled by default.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB