#1 2020-08-27 15:22

narayan
Senior Member
Registered: 2009-02-08
Posts: 458

Feature request: Add folders only (not files in it; nor subfolders)

Hi

Sometimes we have to rename the selected folders, but neither the files nor the subfolders in these folders.
This is not required often, so I would not like to change the filters, save it, then rename the folders, and then reset my filters.

Instead, it would be best to let the user drop the folders using some modifier key, such as SHFT or ALT.

In fact, usually the renaming of the folders is not mixed with renaming of files.
So it is perfectly ok if ReNamer ignores the files in the selection (if they were included in the selection by mistake).

Because of these two exclusions (no files, no subfolders), ReNamer does not need to consider the change of path when folder name is changed.

Offline

#2 2020-09-03 10:11

den4b
Administrator
From: den4b.com
Registered: 2006-04-06
Posts: 3,041

Re: Feature request: Add folders only (not files in it; nor subfolders)

Hi Narayan,

Currently, the changes to the filter settings are applied only to the current session, unless you tick the box "Save as default for future sessions". This allows you to configure the filter settings for adding only folders for the current sessions and you don't need to remember to reset the filters afterwards, because you can simply close down ReNamer and it will forget your changes.

What I believe many users have been waiting for is the ability to select the filter settings at the time of adding files/folders, e.g. drag and drop, copy and paste. The idea is to show the filter settings dialog (or at least some form of it) when the user holds the SHIFT key at the time of adding files/folders, regardless of the exact method used.

How does that sound?

Offline

#3 2020-09-04 12:24

narayan
Senior Member
Registered: 2009-02-08
Posts: 458

Re: Feature request: Add folders only (not files in it; nor subfolders)

Absolutely perfect!

In fact, it is fine even if nothing is displayed, and the behavior changes based on the modifier key selected. (The user will have to know about the modified behavior by reading the manual.)

That said, in Blender (3D modeler), there are several options available at any point of time. And the status line keeps showing all of those "what next?" possibilities. This includes keystrokes, mouse events (LMB, RMB, MMB, roll), combinations of keys and mouse-clicks, etc.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB