#1 2024-05-10 13:09

valdearg
Member
Registered: 2024-05-10
Posts: 1

Multiple displays with taskbar button where window is open

I've been using ReNamer for absolutely years now and love it, I'm just waiting for the latest licence key to be delivered.

One of the issues I have is that the application has some odd issues when you have multiple screens and move the application between them.

I have the following setup:

4 displays, in a 2x2 grid.

The taskbar is split across all displays, with the option set in Windows to show my taskbar apps on the taskbar where the window is open.

What I find is that when moving ReNamer between the screens, the icon will stay on the primary display and will not show on the screen it's on.

In some cases, if you rename something it will appear on the taskbar on the screen.

If I close the ReNamer and re-open it, the client will show on the display is was last on, but the icon will stay on the primary display.

It's really weird and mildly frustrating, though most likely because I've been using it for so long!

I've a gif of this happening here, hopefully it works.

https://imgur.com/vhNhA6y

Offline

#2 2024-05-21 10:49

den4b
Administrator
From: den4b.com
Registered: 2006-04-06
Posts: 3,393

Re: Multiple displays with taskbar button where window is open

Thank you for reporting this issue.

It appears to be an incompatibility between the relevant taskbar feature and a 3rd party GUI component library used in ReNamer. We'll report this to the vendor.

For future reference, location of this feature in Windows 10:

  • Taskbar settings » Multiple displays » Show taskbar buttons on = Taskbar where window is open

Offline

#3 2024-05-21 11:00

den4b
Administrator
From: den4b.com
Registered: 2006-04-06
Posts: 3,393

Re: Multiple displays with taskbar button where window is open

There is a slight trick you can do to move the taskbar button to the right screen.

Move the main window to the desired screen, it must be in a normal window state (not maximized), minimize the window. It should minimize into the taskbar of the screen it was on. The taskbar button should remain on that screen until you close the application or perform this trick again.

It is not a great workaround and not a solution, but still worth documenting it here.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB